David Dsilo2

 

Dave Dellenbaugh Sailing

David Dellenbaugh is a champion helmsman, tactician, author, coach, rules expert and seminar leader who has spent his career helping sailors sail faster and smarter.Here are the learning resources that he has created to help you improve your racing skills.

  • Home
  • Answers to our Online Rules Quiz

Answers to our Online Rules Quiz

Here are the answers to our online rules quizzes:

Answers to Rules Quiz A
A-1. X  – At position 1 Boat X is clear ahead of Boat Y. Rule 12 (On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped) says, “When boats are on the same tack and not overlapped, a boat clear astern shall keep clear of a boat clear ahead.” Therefore, Y must keep clear of X.

A-2. T  – At position 2, Boat Y has established a leeward overlap from clear astern within two hull lengths of Boat X. Therefore, according to rule 17 (On the Same Tack; Proper Course), Y may not sail above her proper course as long as the boats remain on the same tack and overlapped within two lengths. Of course, boats do not have a proper course before the starting signal, so until that point Y can sail as high as she wants without breaking rule 17.

A-3. F  – There is no requirement for Y to hail before changing course. Even if Y does hail, this would not change her obligation under rule 16 to give X room to keep clear.

A-4. T  – At position 3, Boat X is the windward boat and Boat Y is the leeward boat. According to rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped), the windward boat (X) must keep clear of the leeward boat (Y). If the boats have contact it means X did not keep clear, so therefore she broke rule 11. However, X could be exonerated for breaking rule 11 if Boat Y broke rule 16 (Changing Course) and thereby forced X to break 11.

A-5. F  – If there is contact at position 3, the leeward boat (Y) is definitely at risk of getting a penalty. Y was changing course just before contact, so she was required to give Boat X room to keep clear. Since there was contact, it is very possible that Y did not give X room to keep clear. That’s why it would be smart for Y to curtail her luff before there is contact.