David Dellenbaugh's Speed & Smarts Follow us on Facebook
BACK TO HOME Current issue #142 - Racing Rules IQ Test

Test Your Smarts

Test Your Smarts Winning Tips Subscribers Corner DVDBox

Here is our second True/False test on the racing rules. If you put your email address in the box below, you will receive the answers by email shortly after you hit "Submit" at the bottom.
Good luck!

Email Address: provide email address to receive answers
1 When you break a rule but no other competitor or race official protests you, you are not required to take a penalty.
True
False
2 After a boat passes head to wind in the middle of a tack, she is not considered to be "on a tack" until she reaches her new close-hauled course.
True
False
3 You finish when you cross the finish line in the direction of the course from the last mark, after sailing the course properly.
True
False
4 If the right-of-way boat can sail a straight course without touching another boat, then the other is keeping clear.
True
False
5 The anchor line of a mark is not considered to be part of that mark.
True
False
6

A boat can have a proper course before her starting signal.

True
False
7 A boat doing a penalty turn must keep clear of boats not making penalty turns.
True
False
8 The race committee must give a copy of the sailing instructions to each competitor before a regatta begins.
True
False
9 In the standard starting system (rule 26), your class flag is displayed for the first time at the preparatory signal.
True
False
10 The race committee may move a starting mark until the preparatory signal.
True
False
11 If a boat finishes the race and then realizes she rounded the leeward mark in the wrong direction, she cannot go back and correct her error.
True
False
12 When the Black Flag Rule is in effect, the race committee will display flag X and one sound signal if any boats are OCS at the starting signal.
True
False
13 After a general recall, a new preparatory signal will be made one minute after the first substitute flag is lowered.
True
False
14 If flag I was displayed and a boat is OCS 45 seconds before her start, she must sail around either end of the starting line after the starting signal.
True
False
15 If a boat crosses the finish line and touches a finishing mark just after that, she must take a penalty and cross the finish line again.
True
False
16 When the course is shortened at a gate, the finishing line is between the nearby race committee boat and the closer of the two gate buoys.
True
False
17 You are allowed to wear clothing to increase your weight as long as the total weight of your clothing and equipment is not more than 8 kilograms.
True
False
18 If a boat breaks a right-of- way rule 3 minutes before her start, she may take her Two- Turns Penalty as soon as possible.
True
False
19 If a boat breaks a rule near the finish, she must take her Two Turns Penalty on the course side of the line.
True
False
20 A boat cannot take a Two- Turns Penalty to exonerate herself if a competitor protests her for a kinetics rule.
True
False