TRUE or FALSE? The diagram shows three boats before the start. Blue is entitled to room between Yellow and Green only if at the moment she gets a leeward overlap on Yellow, there is room for her to sail between Yellow and Green.
Correct Answer: False
Explanation : Under the 2005-2008 racing rules, the answer would have been True because Green was considered a continuing obstruction. But the current rules are different for passing obstructions. Other boats are no longer continuing obstructions. Therefore, the standard rule about obstructions (rule 19) applies to this situation. Rule 19 says that Blue is entitled to room between Yellow and the obstruction (right-of-way Green) only if Yellow is able to give Blue room from the time Blue's (inside, leeward) overlap began. Under the old rules, if Blue got an inside overlap and at that moment there was not room for her to pass between Green and Yellow, then Blue was not permitted to go in there. But now, Blue is permitted to fit in there if, at the moment she gets a leeward overlap, Yellow has enough time and space to head up and give Blue room.